Ad By UC Browser

Tuesday, 3 November 2015

Chimamanda Adiche’s book named ‘best of the best’

Also trending for her winning streak is Adichie who has won the “Best of the Best” award. Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s Half of a Yellow Sun has topped a list of the last decade’s winners of the Baileys Women’s Fiction Prize.

“Best of the best” is part of the celebrations to mark 20 years of the annual £30,000 prize.
The Nigerian author won in 2007 for her story, her second novel, set during the Biafran War of the 1960s.
The 38-year-old said of the prize, Over the years it’s brought wonderful literature to a wide readership that might not have found many of the books. I feel I am in very good company.
Other winners of the Baileys Prize from the last decade include Zadie Smith for On Beauty and Eimear McBride for A Girl is a Half-formed Thing.
Established in 1996, the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction – formally the Orange Prize for Fiction, is awarded to the best novel of the year written by a woman. Baileys took over sponsorship in 2014.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please share your comments with us..